Origami Marionette

20170215_145756 20170215_14564120170225_120427

In my marionette in order to keep most of my paper pieces together string was added to them to ensure that the interlocking paper and normally folded pieces wouldn’t separate from the figure as motion and gestures where being done. Because the marionette was made from a fairly flimsy material it shows that there are even less limits to what can be done through the use of cheap dispensable materials and nothing too high grade. While composing my figure, I wanted certain elements to stand out more than others, so for the overall marionette I chose a neutral color so it could then be enhanced by contrasting primary colors of a cool blue and the warm red. Not at first completely understanding how I was to create a marionette out of paper forced me to learn the potential of the material I was to use to accomplish this project. After many cases of frustration and trial and error I had finally discovered how I was going to be able to create what I had in mind as a work of art. I learned that through combination of simple origami folds and other compete shapes, organic and non-organic figures could be possible. I tried my best to keep my marionette looking like a person, so what was important to me was that the forms from which I was making out of paper, needed to resemble human muscle and definition or how the clothes and hair would taper once they drape off their starting points. The marionette has mainly warm colors with a few cold. There are varied textures from the limps to head and body as well as the crinkles and waves from the clothing and hair. The origami pieces are all representational of the human figure in an abstracted way. Since this project was to be done using modular design, a repetition of shapes, patterns, or forms; during the process of making my piece, most of it required me to make the same segments of pieces to create a 3D shape like the cubes for the body of my Marionette. This process was also included in the use of my capping of limbs and the head, as well as the repetition for limbs using the technique of folding the the paper to represent muscle structure. Because of the style of paper and use of the technique modular design, my marionette has a sense of unity, proportion, and balance. Unity as the entire piece is made from paper and string. Proportion, because the length of the limbs compared to the torso are equivalent to the proportion of “standard” human anatomy. Lastly balance, because if not for the slight offset color tones of the arms to face to lower body, it wouldn’t give a feeling of dynamism that makes the marionette feel alive.

This entry was posted in Non-timebased, Time-Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

